Skip to main content

Lucas Oil MLRA Set for Labor Day Weekend Double Header

Wednesday, September 1, 2021
A Double Header weekend is on tap for the MLRA at long time series staples Lakeside Speedway and Lucas Oil Speedway this Friday and Saturday. Photo Credit: Lloyd Collins FastTrack Photos

Wheatland, Missouri (August 31, 2021) – Two big nights of action await the Lucas Oil Midwest Late Model Racing Association (MLRA) this upcoming Labor Day Weekend. With only six events remaining on the 2021 schedule the series looks to return to a pair of long time venues this weekend, before wrapping up the season with four nights of action that are slated to take place in the Illini state.

Lakeside Speedway - Kansas City, KansasLakeside Speedway in Kansas City, KS will once again welcome the MLRA on Friday night September 3rd for the annual Clyde Ellis Memorial Presented by Seeburg Mufflers. Friday nights $3,000 to win main event will mark the MLRA’s 34th all-time appearance at the 4/10 mile semi-bank dirt oval. The most recent MLRA event came back in 2018 when Late Model Hall of Famer Terry Phillips notched his series record 116th career MLRA victory in a hard fought battle with Will Vaught.

On Saturday night September 4th, the weekend showdown will move south to the Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri for the final time this season. The 2nd Annual Ron Jenkins Memorial will take center stage as the famed “Diamond of Dirt Tracks” pays tribute to the original builder of the once Wheatland Raceway.

Originally slated as a $5,000 to win feature event, the winner will now cash in on an extra $1,000 bonus in memory of Mr. Jenkins making it $6,000 to win. The bonus money doesn’t stop there, as the nights overall Illini Racing & Supply Fast Time Award winner will collect an extra $500 for their efforts. Both bonuses are being given in honor of Mr. Jenkins by his wife Mary Jenkins.

One year ago, Broseley, Missouri’s Mason Oberkramer scored his first career MLRA win in the Labor Day Weekend Classic over Oregon’s Justin Duty. This time around Oberkramer comes in as the series leading Sunoco Race Fuels Rookie of the Year driver, and still in search of his first MLRA win of the season.

Thus far, the 2021 MLRA season has been dominated by series point leader Tony Jackson Jr. who can edge another step closer to locking up his 2nd career Lucas Oil MLRA title this weekend. With a series leading four wins this season the 2013 series champ now holds a 220 point advantage over Garrett Alberson, while Californian Jason Papich maintains the third spot. Oberkramer will come into the weekend in fourth, but in a tight battle with defending series champion Jeremiah Hurst with the duo being separated by just 30 points.


Aaron Marrant scored his first career Lucas Oil Slick Mist Fast Time Award one year ago during the Ron Jenkins Memorial at the Lucas Oil Speedway.
Aaron Marrant scored his first career Lucas Oil Slick Mist Fast Time Award one year ago during the Ron Jenkins Memorial at the Lucas Oil Speedway. Lloyd Collins--FastTrack Photos.


Driver to Watch: One driver to keep a close eye on this weekend will be Richmond, Missouri driver Aaron Marrant. The driver of the Bob Morton Enterprises #1x has numerous racing achievements and on track experience at both venues that could play into his favor. A multi-time track champion at Lakeside, Marrant will look to join drivers like Logan Martin and JC Wyman who in recent years collected their first career MLRA wins there. One season ago Marrant also laid claim to the Slick Mist Fast Time award at the Ron Jenkins Memorial before finishing the feature with a 5th place run. 

By the Numbers: 
(0)--- Since the MLRA’s first visit to Lakeside Speedway in 2000, no driver has ever visited victory lane and gone on to win the season championship.
(2.8)—Throw out a DNF in late June at the Salina Highbanks and since June 5th, Garrett Alberson has an average finish of 2.8 in stand alone MLRA events.
(6)—The number of drivers to score their one and only series win at Lakeside. (Logan Martin 17’, JC Wyman 16’, Justin Asplin 13’, Eric Turner 10’, Dale McDowell 10’, & Brady Smith 04’).
(8)—Defending series champion Jeremiah Hurst has recorded eight podium finishes since the start of 2020, but is still in search of his first MLRA victory. The Dubuque, IA driver has been hot as of late and could get that breakthrough win this weekend.


Lakeside Speedway: Kansas City, KS -- Friday 9/3/21
Gates: 6:00 PM
Racing: Hot Laps - 7:15 PM, Racing to follow
Admission: Adults (16+) $20, Seniors/Military $15, Junior (12-15) $5, Under 12 FREE
Support Classes: Stock Cars, E-Mods, Mod-Lites

Lucas Oil Speedway: Wheatland, MO -- Saturday 9/4/21
Gates: 4:00 PM
Racing: Hot Laps - 6:30 PM, Racing - 7:05 PM
Admission: Adults (16+) $20, Seniors (62+)/Military $17, Youth (6-15) $10, Kids (5 & Under) FREE, Family Pass $50
Support Classes: USRA B-Mod's $750 to win, USRA Stock Cars $750 to Win