Phillips charges late for Salina Highbanks victory

Salina, Oklahoma (June 30, 2017) - Action picked up late in the running of the opening night of the 4th Annual Buddy's Home Furnishings Freedom Classic, Friday, at Salina Highbanks Speedway in Salina, Oklahoma.

Jesse Stovall sliced his way to the lead early and led for the majority of the feature. However, Terry Phillips charged forward, from 11th and passed Stovall on lap 28, to secure his second straight Lucas Oil MLRA win.

"I took a little guess at what we needed after the heat race, it kind of came to me," said Phillips in Andy's Frozen Custard Victory Lane. "He (Stovall) was really tight getting in (the corner) I noticed. If he wasn't so tight getting in, I probably couldn't have run him down. I hit it a little better than he did tonight I guess. He makes fun of me for being old all the time, I showed him what old is!"

On Phillips march to the front he only had the benefit of two back to back yellows over the course of the 30 lap feature. The win for Phillips is his 113 in MLRA action.

Jesse Stovall followed Phillips to the checkers and Indiana's Joe Godsey rounded out the top three, notching his best ever performance with the series. Godsey ran second for over half the feature and once even challenged for the lead.

In a new Rocket XR1Chassis Payton Looney finished fourth. Rodney Sanders was the Casey's General Stores Hard Charger moving form 22nd to finish fifth.

Tomorrow night the Freedom Classic wraps up with $5,000 awaiting the winner. Modifieds will also race for a $2,500 top prize. Friday, both Phillips and Sanders raced Modifieds as well. The win went to Salina, Oklahoma driver Jason Hughes.

Live PPV will be available Saturday if you can not make the race in person. Visit for ordering information.

Salina Highbanks Speedway Contingencies 6/30/17
Andy's Frozen Custard Victory Lane - Terry Phillips
Casey's General Store's "Hard Charger of the Race" - Rodney Sanders "Pole Award" - Tony Jackson Jr
Hooker Harness "11th Place" - Jacob Magee
KRC "Hard Luck Award" - Joe Gorby
Landrum Springs "Landrum Springs Performer of the Race" - Rodney Sanders
Malvern Bank & Trust "Most Laps Led" - Jesse Stovall
Midwest Sheet Metal "Points Leader Spoiler Challenge" - Jesse Stovall
Mittler Brothers Machine and Tool "Crew Chief of the Race" - Rocky Miller
Performance Bodies "Performer of the Race" - Terry Phillips
Real Racing Wheels - Randy Timms
Sunoco "Rookie of the Race" - Rodney Sanders
Wehrs Machine - Jacob Magee

Lucas Oil Products A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Terry Phillips 2. Jesse Stovall 3. Joe Godsey 4. Payton Looney 5. Rodney Sanders 6. Brantlee Gotschall 7. Tony Jackson Jr. 8. JC Wyman 9. Jeff Roth 10. Mason Oberkramer 11. Jacob Magee 12. Jeremy Grady 13. Randy Timms 14. Shannon Scott 15. Dillon Rupe 16. Raymond Merrill 17. Bob King 18. Gary Gorby 19. Brandon Mitchell 20. Joe Gorby 21. Will Vaught 22. Garrett Murrell

Swift Springs Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. Joe Godsey 2. Randy Timms 3. Joe Gorby 4. Jacob Magee 5. Gary Gorby 6. Bob King 7. Garrett Murrell 8. Rodney Sanders

Casey's General Stores Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. Jesse Stovall 2. Payton Looney 3. Will Vaught 4. Terry Phillips 5. Brantlee Gotschall 6. Raymond Merrill 7. Dillon Rupe

Chix Gear Racewear Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. Tony Jackson Jr 2. Jeff Roth 3. Mason Oberkramer 4. Shannon Scott 5. JC Wyman 6. Jeremy Grady 7. Brandon Mitchell

2017 Official Lucas Oil MLRA Marketing Partners

Casey's General Stores
"The Official Convenience Store" of Lucas Oil MLRA

E3 Spark Plugs
"The Official Spark Plug" of Lucas Oil MLRA

"The Official Insurance" of Lucas Oil MLRA

General Tire
"The Official Tire" of Lucas Oil MLRA

Hoosier Race Tires
"The Official Race Tire" of Lucas Oil MLRA

Lucas Oil Products
"The Official Oil" of Lucas Oil MLRA

Malvern Trust & Savings Bank
"The Official Trust & Savings Bank" of Lucas Oil MLRA

MAVTV Motorsports Network
"The Official Television Network" of Lucas Oil MLRA

Optima Batteries
"The Official Battery" of Lucas Oil MLRA
"The Official Classifieds" of Lucas Oil MLRA

Sunoco Race Fuels
"The Official Fuel" of Lucas Oil MLRA

2017 MLRA Supporters Include:
Andy's Frozen Custard, ASI Racewear, Casey's General Stores, Chix Gear Apparel,, Dynamic Drivelines, Fast Shafts, GRT Race Cars, Hobbytime Motorsports, Hoosier Racing Tire, Hooker Harness, Impact Signs Awnings & Wraps, Kluhsman Racing Components, Landrum Performance Springs, Lucas Cattle Company, Lucas Oil Products, Lucas Oil Racing TV, Malvern Trust & Savings Bank, MAVTV Motorsports Network, Midwest Sheet Metal, Mittler Bros. Machine & Tool, Performance Bodies,,,, Real Racing Wheels, Sunoco Race Fuels, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products

Newsletter Sign-Up

* Required

Latest Photos

Loading script and Flickr images