Moyer dominates Lucas Oil MLRA stop in Independence

Independence, Iowa (May 6, 2017) - Saturday night wrapped up the weekend's trio of events for the Lucas Oil MLRA. polesitter Billy Moyer jumped out to the lead, and stormed away from the field for his second win of the season career win 818.

"We just keep working at it, were doing a bunch of new stuff here," commented Moyer. "We've had a lot of ups ad downs. Were learning what we needed to learn. Just hopefully we keep getting a little bit better."

Rodney Sanders held second for the feature's duration. It was his best run of the weekend.

"Billy definitely had the fastest car tonight. It was a good night for us. We were good in our qualifying and our heat race. It was an improvement form last night."

Chris Simpson stalked Sanders for the duration and finished third. The finish at Independence goes along with a win and runner up this weekend.

"We didn't qualify where we thought we needed to and changed some stuff for the heat," said Simpson. "It definitely made the car worse. Billy was the class of the field all night. This is his type of stuff. This dirty sandy stuff, he's good at. All in all it's a good night."

Brent Larson had his best run of the weekend coming home fourth and Jimmy Mars ran fifth.

Next up for the Lucas Oil MLRA is the Show Me 100 over Memorial Day weekend, May 25-27. The $30,000 to win race is the first Late Model crown jewel of the season. Visit for more information.

Independence Motor Speedway Contingency Awards 5/6/17

  • Andy's Frozen Custard Victory Lane - Billy Moyer
  • Casey's General Store's "Hard Charger of the Race" - Dave Eckrich
  • "Pole Award" - Billy Moyer
  • Hooker Harness "11th Place" - Jesse Stovall
  • KRC "Hard Luck Award" - Payton Looney
  • Landrum Springs "Landrum Springs Performer of the Race" - Brantlee Gotschall
  • Malvern Bank & Trust "Most Laps Led" - Billy Moyer
  • Midwest Sheet Metal "Points Leader Spoiler Challenge" - Tony Jackson Jr
  • Mittler Brothers Machine and Tool "Crew Chief of the Race" - Steve Norris
  • Performance Bodies "Performer of the Race" - Billy Moyer
  • Real Racing Wheels - Al Humphrey
  • Sunoco "Rookie of the Race" - Rodney Sanders
  • Wehrs Machine - Raymond Merrill

Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (40 laps):

  1. Billy Moyer
  2. Rodney Sanders
  3. Chris Simpson
  4. Brent Larson
  5. Jimmy Mars
  6. Bobby Pierce
  7. Ricky Thornton Jr
  8. Tony Jackson Jr
  9. Tyler Bruning
  10. Chad Simpson
  11. Jesse Stovall
  12. Dave Eckrich
  13. Spencer Diercks
  14. JC Wyman
  15. Terry Phillips
  16. Brantlee Gotschall
  17. Randy Timms
  18. Raymond Merrill
  19. Payton Looney
  20. Justin Asplin
  21. Jordan Yaggy
  22. Evan Hubert
  23. Al Humphrey
  24. Paul Parker

Impact Signs, Awnings, Wraps, B Feature (12 laps):

  1. Dave Eckrich
  2. Terry Phillips
  3. Justin Asplin
  4. Paul Parker
  5. Brantlee Gotschall
  6. Evan Hubert
  7. Raymond Merrill
  8. Jeremy Grady
  9. Al Humphrey
  10. Mike Stadel
  11. Payton Looney Heat 1 (10 laps):

  1. Rodney Sanders
  2. Brent Larson
  3. Jesse Stovall
  4. Tyler Bruning
  5. Randy Timms
  6. Dave Eckrich
  7. Paul Parker
  8. Al Humphrey
  9. Mike Stadel

Casey's General Stores Heat 2 (10 laps):

  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Tony Jackson Jr
  3. Tricky Thornton Jr
  4. Spencer Diercks
  5. JC Wyman
  6. Terry Phillips
  7. Brantlee Gotschall
  8. Jeremy Grady
  9. Raymond Merrill

Chix Gear Racewear Heat 3 (10 laps):

  1. Billy Moyer
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Jimmy Mars
  4. Chad Simpson
  5. Jordan Yaggy
  6. Justin Asplin
  7. Evan Hubert
  8. Payton Looney

Newsletter Sign-Up

* Required

Latest Photos

Loading script and Flickr images