Pierce tackles Davenport's topside for $3,000 win

Davenport, Iowa (May 5, 2017) - Bobby Pierce rolled into Davenport Speedway for the first time ever, Friday evening, and left with the $3,000 check. However, the win was far from easy. There were 31 cars total gunning for the checkers. The win is the fifth for Pierce this season and second ever with the Lucas Oil MLRA.

"I kind of expected the bottom to have a lot of moisture in it," said Pierce. "I knew from the beginning when I was rolling the top I really didn't expect it to be out there, so then when I was keeping up with them I was like, well, maybe we'll have a real raceable track. I caught them really fast. They were stuck behind lapped cars. I was really pumped to get that win, because it was such a fun race."

Tony Jackson Jr. accumulated the most passing points and earned the DirtOnDirt.com pole. Jackson led early until the high line came in for Pierce, who took the lead on lap 15, and never relinquished it..

The race's only yellow came on lap 28 when Chase Junghans and Brent Larson made contact in the middle of turns three and four.

Simpson made one last charge with four to go, but Pierce's line and lapped traffic were too much to overcome.

"I was way better in three and four," said Simpson. "It's just one and two had that lip up top. I was doing all I could to keep momentum through one and two. We're good though, we've got a good balanced car. We'll move on to tomorrow and go get 'em then."

It was another strong performance for Jimmy Mars, who passed Jackson late for third.

"You had to be pretty patient on that bottom," mentioned Mars. "It started to clean up there. We were alright. The restart definitely helped me."

Saturday night takes the tour two hours from Davenport, Iowa to Independence Motor Speedway in Independence, Iowa. The final show of the weekend pays $3,000. Through the first four races there has yet to be a repeat winner.

Davenport Speedway Contingency Awards 5/5/17

  • Andy's Frozen Custard Victory Lane - Bobby Pierce
  • Casey's General Store's "Hard Charger of the Race" - Terry Phillips
  • DirtonDirt.com "Pole Award" - Tony Jackson Jr.
  • Hooker Harness "11th Place" - Ricky Thornton Jr.
  • KRC "Hard Luck Award" - Payton Looney
  • Landrum Springs "Landrum Springs Performer of the Race" - Rodney Sanders
  • Malvern Bank & Trust "Most Laps Led" - Bobby Pierce
  • Midwest Sheet Metal "Points Leader Spoiler Challenge" - Tony Jackson Jr.
  • Mittler Brothers Machine and Tool "Crew Chief of the Race" - Ciara Pierce
  • Performance Bodies "Performer of the Race" - Bobby Pierce
  • Real Racing Wheels - Chad Simpson
  • Sunoco "Rookie of the Race" - Rodney Sanders
  • Wehrs Machine - Jesse Stovall

ProtectTheHarvest.com A Feature (40 laps):

  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Jimmy Mars
  4. Tony Jackson Jr.
  5. Jesse Stovall
  6. Jason Feger
  7. Tyler Bruening
  8. Rodney Sanders
  9. Terry Phillips
  10. Chad Simpson
  11. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  12. Jordan Yaggy
  13. Dave Eckrich
  14. Randy Timms
  15. Brent Larson
  16. Brantlee Gotschall
  17. Raymond Merrill
  18. JC Wyman
  19. Spencer Diercks
  20. Chase Junghans
  21. Justin Asplin
  22. Jeremy Grady
  23. Payton Looney
  24. Rob Toland

Hoosier Racing Tires B Feature (12 laps):

  1. Rodney Sanders
  2. Chase Junghans
  3. Randy Timms
  4. Raymond Merrill
  5. Terry Phillips
  6. Justin Asplin
  7. Brantlee Gotschall
  8. Mike Stadel
  9. JC Wyman
  10. Jay Johnson
  11. Evan Hubert
  12. Rich Bell
  13. Paul Parker
  14. Billy Moyer
  15. Al Humphrey

HotRodProcessing.com Heat 1 (10 laps):

  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  4. Rob Toland
  5. Rodney Sanders
  6. Chase Junghans
  7. Billy Moyer
  8. Terry Phillips

Casey's General Stores Heat 2 (10 laps):

  1. Jesse Stovall
  2. Jason Feger
  3. Chad Simpson
  4. Brent Larson
  5. Raymond Merrill
  6. Randy Timms
  7. JC Wyman
  8. Al Humphrey

Chix Gear Heat 3 (10 laps):

  1. Tony Jackson Jr.
  2. Payton Looney
  3. Jimmy Mars
  4. Jeremy Grady
  5. Justin Asplin
  6. Jay Johnson
  7. Evan Hubert
  8. Paul Parker

Malvern Bank Heat 4 (10 Laps):

  1. Tyler Bruening
  2. Spencer Diercks
  3. Jordan Yaggy
  4. Dave Eckrich
  5. Brantlee Gotschall
  6. Rich Bell
  7. Mike Stadel

2017 Official Lucas Oil MLRA Marketing Partners

Casey's General Stores
"The Official Convenience Store" of Lucas Oil MLRA

E3 Spark Plugs
"The Official Spark Plug" of Lucas Oil MLRA

"The Official Insurance" of Lucas Oil MLRA

General Tire
"The Official Tire" of Lucas Oil MLRA

Hoosier Race Tires
"The Official Race Tire" of Lucas Oil MLRA

Lucas Oil Products
"The Official Oil" of Lucas Oil MLRA  

Malvern Trust & Savings Bank
"The Official Trust & Savings Bank" of Lucas Oil MLRA

MAVTV Motorsports Network
"The Official Television Network" of Lucas Oil MLRA

Optima Batteries
"The Official Battery" of Lucas Oil MLRA

"The Official Classifieds" of Lucas Oil MLRA

Speedco Truck Lube & Tires
"The Official Truck Lube and Tire Center" of Lucas Oil MLRA

Sunoco Race Fuels
"The Official Fuel" of Lucas Oil MLRA

2017 MLRA Supporters Include:

Andy's Frozen Custard, AR Bodies, ASI Racewear, Bell Helmets, Bilstein, Casey's General Stores, Chix Gear Apparel, DirtOnDirt.com, Eibach Springs, Fast Shafts, Fast Track Photos, G2 Gemini Apparel, GRT Race Cars, Hobbytime Motorsports, Hoosier Racing Tire, Hooker Harness, Hot Rod Processing, Hot Rod Tracker, Impact Signs Awnings & Wraps, Kluhsman Racing Components, Landrum Performance Springs, Lucas Cattle Company, Lucas Oil Products, Lucas Oil Racing TV, MAVTV Motorsports Network, Midwest Sheet Metal, Performance Bodies, ProtectTheHarvest.com, RacinDirt.com, RacingJunk.com, Real Racing Wheels, Sunoco Race Fuels, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products

Newsletter Sign-Up

* Required

Latest Photos

Loading script and Flickr images