main photo

Photo: Lloyd Collins

Saturday night in Lucas Oil MLRA action at Lakeside Speedway it was all Will Vaught. He started at the back of his heat race and won. This put him on the pole where he checked out and led every lap, to score his second Lucas Oil MLRA win of the season.

"Starting up front at a place like this means a lot," commented Vaught. "Our car was perfect. I'm happy for Warrior (Race Cars)."

Vaught got caught up in an accident during his heat. With severe nose damage he was able to regroup during intermission. "I really thought our night was ended," said Vaught of the damage. Luckily for the team, the damage was isolated to the body and not any of the suspension or steering components. A small army of helpers busily went to work and repaired the #1V.

Brad Looney worked up to the runner up spot early in the race and held off charges form both Kyle Berck and Chris Simpson. Looney was able to narrow the gap between he and Vaught at times, but never challenged for the lead.

Friday night's winner, Kyle Berck, rolled past seven cars to finish third. He never really had much breathing room as he was constantly around other cars for position. Chris Simpson pushed forward form eleventh to run fourth. In only his second Dirt Late Model feature, Ryan Gustin passed nine cars and rounded out the top five finishers.

The evening's KRC Hard Charger award went to Woodward, Oklahoma's Tommy Weder Jr, who knocked off thirteen cars to finish eighth. Jesse Stovall and Mark Dotson came into the weekend battling for the second position in the season long standings. Stovall ran 9th and earned the position by one point, unofficially. Dotson won the evening's $2,000 Modified feature and secured the Lucas Oil MLRA Rookie of the Year.

It was also the payoff for a long season for the Shop Quik team. John Anderson had some tough luck this weekend, but came into the final two shows with an enormous point lead, due to his on the money, consistently. Anderson scored five wins and had an average finish of 2.9 for the year. The championship is his third and second in a row.

Harrah's Casino is the site of the Championship Banquet on Friday, November, 16th to honor the Championship team and Rookie of the Year.

10/20/12 Lucas Oil MLRA Contingency Awards

Performance Bodies - Bryon Allison

KRC Hard Charger - Tommy Weder Jr.

Weld Wheels - Brad Looney

BSB Manufacturing - Dustin Walker

R2C Performance Products - Eric Turner

Keizer Wheels - Brantlee Gotschall

Wilwood Engineering - David Turner

Racing Optics - Brandon McCormick

Wehrs Machine & Racing Products - Matt Johnson

JRI Suspension - Bill Leighton

Race Results

Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (40 Laps):1. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 2. Brad Looney (Republic, MO), 3. Kyle Berck (Marquette, NE), 4. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 5. Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, IA), 6. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO), 7. David Turner (Creighton, MO), 8. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 9. Jesse Stovall (Galena, MO), 10. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 11. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 12. Matt Johnson (Archie, MO), 13. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 14. Spencer Diercks (Davenport, IA), 15. Rob Moss (Iowa City, IA), 16. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 17. Grant Junghans (Manhattan, KS), 18. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 19. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 20. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 21. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 22. Jason Bodenhammer (Centerview, MO), 23. Sonny Findling (Kirksville, MO), 24. John Anderson (Omaha, NE)

Sunoco Race Fuels B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 2. Spencer Diercks (Davenport, IA), 3. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 4. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO), 5. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 6. Mike Balcaen (Winnipeg, Manitoba), 7. Chase Junghans (Manhattan, KS), 8. Dustin Walker (Peculiar, MO), 9. Brantlee Gotschall (Nevada, MO), 10. Dustin Heuhl (Salina, KS), 11. Skip Frey (Ely, IA), 12. Joe Walkenhorst (Lees Summit, MO), 13. Jason Rauen (Farley, IA), 14. Butch Kruckeberg (Edwardsville, IL), 15. Don Shaw (Ham Lake, MN)

Hoosier Racing Tires B Feature 2 (12 Laps):1. Rob Moss (Iowa City, IA), 2. Jason Bodenhammer (Centerview, MO), 3. Sonny Findling (Kirksville, MO), 4. Justin Zeitner (LaVista, NE), 5. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 6. Bryon Allison (Marshall, MO), 7. Shawn Knuckles (Popular Bluff, MO), 8. Brad Wagoner (Colby, KS), 9. Junior Coover (Norfolk, NE), 10. Scotty Phillips (Salina, KS), 11. Matthew Sosebee (Grandview, MO), 12. Charlie McKenna (Clear Lake, IA), 13. Kevin Coyne (Kingsville, MO), 14. Trent Follmer (Princeton, MN)

Lucas Oil Products Heat 1 (10 Laps):1. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 2. Grant Junghans (Manhattan, KS), 3. Matt Johnson (Archie, MO), 4. Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, IA), 5. Mike Balcaen (Winnipeg, Manitoba), 6. Rob Moss (Iowa City, IA), 7. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 8. Matthew Sosebee (Grandview, MO), 9. Joe Walkenhorst (Lees Summit, MO)

Wehrs Machine & Racing Products Heat 2 (10 Laps):1. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO), 2. Kyle Berck (Marquette, NE), 3. David Turner (Creighton, MO), 4. Sonny Findling (Kirksville, MO), 5. Jason Bodenhammer (Centerview, MO), 6. Junior Coover (Norfolk, NE), 7. Dustin Heuhl (Salina, KS), 8. Brad Wagoner (Colby, KS), 9. Scotty Phillips (Salina, KS)

MAV TV Heat 3 (10 Laps):1. Brad Looney (Republic, MO), 2. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 3. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 4. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO), 5. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 6. Chase Junghans (Manhattan, KS), 7. Charlie McKenna (Clear Lake, IA), 8. Brantlee Gotschall (Nevada, MO), 9. Skip Frey (Ely, IA)

Weld Wheels Heat 4 (10 Laps):1. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 2. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 3. Jesse Stovall (Galena, MO), 4. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 5. Justin Zeitner (LaVista, NE), 6. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 7. Jason Rauen (Farley, IA), 8. Dustin Walker (Peculiar, MO), 9. Kevin Coyne (Kingsville, MO)

Afco Racing Products Heat 5 (10 Laps):1. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 2. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 3. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 4. Trent Follmer (Princeton, MN), 5. Spencer Diercks (Davenport, IA), 6. Bryon Allison (Marshall, MO), 7. Don Shaw (Ham Lake, MN), 8. Shawn Knuckles (Popular Bluff, MO), 9. Butch Kruckeberg (Edwardsville, IL)

The Lucas Oil MLRA (Midwest Latemodel Racing Association) sanctions regional Super Dirt Late Model touring series events in Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma and Iowa.

For all the latest news and information on the Lucas Oil MLRA please visit us on the web at or by calling the series office at (417) 282 5984.

The Lucas Oil MLRA would like to thank the 2012 marketing partners; Lucas Oil Products, AAA Missouri, Hoosier Race Tires, Lucas Cattle Company, AFCO Racing Products, GRT Race Cars, Powertrain Industries, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bodee's Race Bodies,, Outpace Racing Products, Fast Track Photos, Weld Racing Wheels, Impact Signs and Lighting, Racing Optics, Schoenfeld Headers, MAV TV, Kluhsman Racing Components, Performance Bodies,, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, ATL Fuel Cells, Day Automotive, Bilstein Shocks, BSB Manufacturing, Keizer Wheels, MasterSbilt Race Cars, R2C Performance Products and Wilwood Engineering.

Newsletter Sign-Up

* Required

Latest Photos

Loading script and Flickr images